Agricultural Commission

The Boxborough Agricultural Commission is a 5-member board established by a vote of Town Meeting in 2008 to promote the practice of agriculture in Boxborough. Members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen. At least three of the members, one of whom may be a non-resident, must be directly engaged in agriculturally related activities in the town. Each member serves for a three-year term.

The mission of the Boxborough Agricultural Commission is to represent, enhance and sustain agriculture, farming and related activities within the town. The responsibilities of the commission include, but are not limited to:

  • Representing the interests of the agricultural community
  • Encouraging and sustaining the pursuit of agriculture
  • Preserving the rural character of the town as exemplified by the farming of open spaces
  • Researching, educating, negotiating and informing on farming and forestry issues
  • Advising Town boards and commissions
  • Working with private individuals or organizations to enhance agricultural activities
  • Providing a forum for the discussion of agricultural questions and concerns
  • Advocating for the preservation, protection and restoration of farmlands and forests
  • Fostering active agricultural uses of Town owned land

Commission Members

Name Title
John Neyland Chair (2019)
Kathie Becker Member (2020)
Bryon Clemence Member (2020)
Owen Neville Member (2019)

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Adam L. Duchesneau, AICP Town Planner (978) 264-1723
Syndicate content