What to Read Next?

Looking for a book to read? Hoping to find a new favorite? Here are a few sites that offer reading suggestions. For children's book suggestions, see here.

NoveList Plus: Home Use | Library Use
Great for browsing for books that evoke certain moods or are similar to other works.

NoveList Plus is a database made available to MA libraries by Masschuessets Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC). You can find book reviews and other information of over 135,000 books. You can browse for books by reader's age group, subjects, genre, story and atmospheric elements, such as "Heartwarming and Quirky" or "Intensifying and Suspenful", and Author Read-alikes which suggests authors whose works are alike. There are also book discussion guides for parents or book clubs to spur deep discussions about a book.

NoveList is connected to C/W MARS catalog and users can search for the book in the library catalog directly from the database.

Literature Resource Center
Great for looking up information about a specific book or for author research.

Literature Resource Center is a database made available to MA libraries by MBLC and Mass Library System (MLS) as well as federal and state funds. The database offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 120,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Stop, You're Killing Me!
Great for mystery and suspense lovers.

Stop, You're Killing Me! is a website "for lovers of mystery, crime, thriller, spy, and suspense books." The website lists over 4,800 authors with chronological lists of their books (over 55,000) titles. You can find books by title, subject, award winning record, or other story elements, such as the character's job and location of a story.

which book
Great for finding books by using a combination of atmospheric factors. 

which book is a UK based website that lets you use sliders to control the type of stories you are looking for. You can decide how serious or funny, or how gentle or violent the books you are interested should be. There are aslo book lists with categories such as "slapstick" and "bad luck and trouble". 

Fantastic Fiction 
Great for looking up publishing schedule or find books within a series.

Browse by author, genre, or format (hard cover, paper cover, or audio) to find book synopsis, publishing schedule, and cost.

In addition to book recommendation sites, there are also online services that lets book lovers catalog their books or connect with other readers.

LibraryThing is an online service that lets users catalog books they own or read. As a result, people who cataloged the same books are able to connect with each other, and the website is able to make reading suggestions based on your book shelves.

goodreads is a social network for book lovers where people can post their book reviews, compile book lists, and connect with other like minded readers.

Still don't know what to read next? Come to the library and we'll help you find something.