Steele Farm Advisory Committee

Click Here for Staff Contacts

As a result of the vote of May 1994 annual town meeting and a subsequent override election, the Town purchased the Steele Farm on Middle Road consisting of roughly 36 acres and three buildings. The charge of the Steele Farm Advisory Committee is to make recommendations to the Board of Selectmen as to the use of the property and buildings. 

A vote at the November STM in 2009 empowered the Board of Selectmen to “complete and to put into place preservation restrictions on the Steele Farm property”.  The Board determined that mechanism for doing this should be a multi-part legal agreement among Boxborough, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts through the Secretary of the Executive Office of Environmental Affairs and the Massachusetts Historical Commission, and the holders of the restriction,  which would be The Trustees of the Reservation and the Boxborough Historical Society.

July 18, 2013--After a lengthy process, the Deed Restriction was recorded at the Registry of Deeds.

Members of the Steele Farm Advisory Committee are appointed by the Board of Selectmen to a three-year term.

Board Members

Name Title
Bruce Hager Chair (2019)
Jeanne Steele Kangas Clerk (2021)
Jim Moss Member (2020)
Sarah Murphy Member (2020)
Edward Whitcomb Member (2021)
Syndicate content